Turning 16 and getting your license used to go hand-in-hand, but Indiana teens found a way to enjoy the freedom of driving themselves around a year earlier.
In that state, teens had to be at least 15 years old to apply for a driver's permit and 16 years old and 30 days to get their license. That's been bumped this month to 16 and a half to officially have a license, but there is an exception. Teens can drive to school, restaurants, or anywhere else at 15 if they do it on a scooter.
A growing trend in Indiana, parents of teens like David Robertson are buying their kids scooters. The law says that teens only need a state ID card, a scooter under 50cc, and they must wear a helmet, goggles, and cannot ride with passengers.
David's mom explains, "He's assured me that he knows what he's doing. He travels quite a distance on it actually." David's scooter was a present for his 15th birthday, and he says he feels safe riding around on it.
"It's dangerous if you don't really know what you're doing on it. But I kind of know what I'm doing, so I don't really think it's that dangerous."
What do you think: Is 15 too young to let new drivers out on the road alone?