5 Seconds Of Summer

5 Seconds of Summer

5 Seconds of Summer are an Australian pop rock band consisting of members Ashton Irwin (drums), Luke Hemmings (lead vocals), Calum Hood (guitar) and Michael Clifford (bass guitar). The band formed in Sydney in 2011 and gained a following by posting cover videos on YouTube.

5SOS got their first big break opening for British/Irish boy band One Direction on the Take Me Home Tour in 2013. They also opened for One Direction on the Where We Are Tour in 2014.

5SOS and One Direction are both managed by the same London-based company, Modest Management. The group rose to international fame through association with 1D and televised performances at major award shows such as the MTV Video Music Awards and the Billboard Awards. The band even won a VMA in 2014 for Best Lyric Video.

The band signed to Capitol Records in Nov. 2013 and released their debut self-titled album 5 Seconds of Summer in June 2014. It debuted at No. 1 on the Billboard 200 Chart and made the band the first Australian act to achieve a number-one album in the US with their debut record. The group's hit songs include "Amensia," "She Looks So Perfect," "Heartbreak Girl," "Don't Stop" and "Out of My Limit."

In addition to opening for 1D, 5SOS has also played several successful headlining tours in the UK, Australia and North America. The band will embark on their first worldwide headliner called the Rock Out with Your Socks Out Tour in May 2015.

5SOS is also very active on social media with over 7.2 million Facebook fans and 4.6 million Twitter followers. 

Join Our Newsletter
Stay fetch. Sign up for The Cray, our daily roundup of all things buzzworthy. From Kylie Jenner's trendsetting style (btw, puberty goals AF) to life-changing tech news (tweeting an emoji to order a pizza #YES), The Cray is all you need to impress the squad.