Emmy Awards
The first Emmy® Awards ceremony was held on January 25, 1949, at the Hollywood Athletic Club, and was devoted solely to programming that originated from Los Angeles, where the Television Academy was founded. Over time, the Emmys expanded to include programming aired throughout the United States. Today, the Primetime Emmy® is a symbol of peer recognition from over 16,000 Television Academy members. Members from more than two-dozen peer groups vote for the category of competition in their field of expertise.